The World's #1 Russian, Ukrainian & Eastern European Discussion & Information Forum - RUA!

This Is the Premier Discussion Forum on the Net for Information and Discussion about Russia, Ukraine, Eastern Europe and the Former Soviet Union. Discuss Culture, Politics, Travelling, Language, International Relationships and More. Chat with Travellers, Locals, Residents and Expats. Ask and Answer Questions about Travel, Culture, Relationships, Applying for Visas, Translators, Interpreters, and More. Give Advice, Read Trip Reports, Share Experiences and Make Friends.

Author Topic: Fasting and Calorie Restriction: The 5:2 Diet, 16/8 etc.  (Read 1207 times)

Offline Manny

• Spouses Country: Russia
  • Trips: 20+
The subject of fasting has cropped up in recent days a few times, for example:

I've been doing the 16/8 intermittent fasting for the last 2 years and I swear by it.

I've always been a fan of the 5:2 diet, I dropped almost 10kgs on it last year (circa 20 pounds).

Some of it crept back on, so I've been on it again the last couple of weeks. Two days a week on 600 calories only. Here for example is my dinner last night:

That is steamed broccoli, mushrooms, kale, carrots and onion with some garlic gravy on (and a hot chilli, some turmeric and black pepper). About 500g of steamed vegetables there coming out at just 214 calories. With 600 calories a day to play with, I'd had already a couple of hard boiled eggs, a slice of ham and a small salad earlier. I had enough after that for a small dessert of greek yoghurt and blueberries, and a small piece of toast and marmite for supper.

I find the trick is to drink stuff with zero (or almost zero) calories so you can use the calories you have on food. So that gives you water, black coffee, black or green tea or even Diet Coke if you must. At the moment I am on Hongsan Ginseng and Ginger tea I got from North Korea.

Generally, I find green tea quite easy to drink and helpful on diet days.