The World's #1 Russian, Ukrainian & Eastern European Discussion & Information Forum - RUA!

This Is the Premier Discussion Forum on the Net for Information and Discussion about Russia, Ukraine, Eastern Europe and the Former Soviet Union. Discuss Culture, Politics, Travelling, Language, International Relationships and More. Chat with Travellers, Locals, Residents and Expats. Ask and Answer Questions about Travel, Culture, Relationships, Applying for Visas, Translators, Interpreters, and More. Give Advice, Read Trip Reports, Share Experiences and Make Friends.

Author Topic: Media Report Concerns on Putin's Health  (Read 6489 times)

Offline WestCoast

Re: Media Report Concerns on Putin's Health
« Reply #25 on: March 13, 2015, 01:00:17 PM »
andrewfi says ''Proximity is almost no guarantee of authority" and "in many cases, distance gives a better picture with less emotional and subjective input."

That means I'm a subject matter expert on all things Russia, Ukraine and UK.

Offline Manny

• Spouses Country: Russia
  • Trips: 20+
« Reply #26 on: March 13, 2015, 04:09:15 PM »
Putin, the president of Russia and Russian super patriot and his Russian g/f are having a child at a clinic in Switzerland? Doesn't really make a whole lot of sense does it?

It makes a great deal of sense if you understand that that clinic is accustomed to high profile rich Russians, has Russian speaking staff, top notch care and much privacy. Added to which, Switzerland is not in the EU so no silly sanctions stuff.

Many rich Russians choose to have their babies in Switzerland, Germany, America or the UK as the care is better than typically in Russia. Also, in Russia, as its the president, someone will blab to Fox or CNN for $100. Less likely in Switzerland.

The bloke likely doesn't want a media circus around the birth. Why would he? The relationship is not even admitted as he likes to keep his private life private.