The World's #1 Russian, Ukrainian & Eastern European Discussion & Information Forum - RUA!

This Is the Premier Discussion Forum on the Net for Information and Discussion about Russia, Ukraine, Eastern Europe and the Former Soviet Union. Discuss Culture, Politics, Travelling, Language, International Relationships and More. Chat with Travellers, Locals, Residents and Expats. Ask and Answer Questions about Travel, Culture, Relationships, Applying for Visas, Translators, Interpreters, and More. Give Advice, Read Trip Reports, Share Experiences and Make Friends.

Author Topic: Russian marriage agencies from the female perspective  (Read 3103 times)

Offline mendeleyev

• Spouses Country: Russia
  • Trips: 20+
Russian marriage agencies from the female perspective
« on: August 27, 2009, 08:54:40 PM »

I'm not that good at reading Ukrainian, but can muddle around it just enough to be seriously dangerous. So if I missed something we most certainly invite our Ukrainian members to set it straight. When I first saw this sign it made me ponder about how a lady might react.

Lets approach this sign from the woman's perspective.

Lets say you live in Kharkov (or Kharkov as the Russians spell it). You're an attractive lady and unattached. One day while entering a Metro station you glance over at an approved advertising sign (advertising sign = реклама знак or "re-klama znahk") and see this ad for a wedding agency (брачнa агенція is Ukrainian). The sign intrigues the young lady.

I can't claim to be an expert on the Mordison Wedding Agency but can understand why they use their English spelling instead of Мордисон. The English "Mordison" infers knowledge, expertise and experience. It screams to a Ukrainian lass, "come to us because we're from the West. We know what we're doing."